The workers are few.

One of the versus that has become more real to me over the years is Luke 10:2 “He told them, “The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.”

Part of being in ministry is living in the place between “what we should do” and “what we can do now.” A great statement that I heard from Matt Redman at this years Catalyst is “Maturity is striving for the ideal, while living in the actual.”

I think my natural inclination in life when dealing with a problem is to spot the ideal and jump ahead to that state. Basically, I have skipped steps along the way. Part of my process of becoming a better leader is back tracking to gain insight and understanding in the gaps that I have caused. There have been opportunities that I have taken where my gifts propelled me into a position that my character and understanding were not able to sustain.

So instead of trying to do the harvest by myself I am going to pray (and pray more). That God would send and call out new workers to join with me in what God wants to do here at Life’s Oasis.

We aren’t meant to work alone.

You may feel that there aren’t enough people to do what God wants to do in your Church or ministry area. I want to encourage you to pray with me what Jesus told us to pray so that when the harvest does come, we will know who to be grateful toward.

Leave a Reply

