Like Honey.

Psalm 119: 97-104

97 Oh, how I love your law!
    I meditate on it all day long.
98 Your commands are always with me
    and make me wiser than my enemies.
99 I have more insight than all my teachers,
    for I meditate on your statutes.
100 I have more understanding than the elders,
    for I obey your precepts.
101 I have kept my feet from every evil path
    so that I might obey your word.
102 I have not departed from your laws,
    for you yourself have taught me.
103 How sweet are your words to my taste,
    sweeter than honey to my mouth!
104 I gain understanding from your precepts;
    therefore I hate every wrong path.

(emphasis mine)

I think the main problem with Christianity is that for the last 2000 years we have tried to change what Jesus said in order to make it more manageable for us. In fact, this has pretty much been the problem with God since the beginning. We have all been a people who’s main and chief desire is to control God. This takes many forms and has no boundary for doctrine, religion or belief. One of the ways we do this as Christians is by trying to change up the standard whenever we feel that it has become bothersome. This is like moving the food around in our mouths without ever swallowing, hoping that if we get it in the right place and it sits long enough it will become more palatable. But it always ends up mush this way and we just end up spitting it out.

What we must do, and what turns out to be impossible without God’s grace is accept what God says, believe it and actually do it.

Something that I have been thinking about lately and praying for is that God’s word and ways would be more desirable to me than my own. This is a simple thought that I have found lately to be incredible helpful as I try to do what God says. There is something about how we love God that is directly connected to our level of obedience to Him. This also isn’t just so God can feel better about himself. God is not some co-dependant eternal entity who is suffering from a low love tank and needs a lot of cuddles. Loving God and in turn, obedience to His word is beneficial to us. They help us to live the way we should live. God has given us the gift of his word and it is for our good. Let us eat and rejoice lest we be spit out ourselves.

Leave a Reply

