Ezekiel: Words and Wheels.

I am reading Ezekiel for Lent and I will be posting a few thoughts occasionally on the book.

Ezekiel 2:8-10; 3:1-3

8 But you, son of man, listen to what I say to you. Do not rebel like that rebellious people; open your mouth and eat what I give you.”

9 Then I looked, and I saw a hand stretched out to me. In it was a scroll, 10 which he unrolled before me. On both sides of it were written words of lament and mourning and woe.

3:1. And he said to me, “Son of man, eat what is before you, eat this scroll; then go and speak to the people of Israel.”2 So I opened my mouth, and he gave me the scroll to eat.

3 Then he said to me, “Son of man, eat this scroll I am giving you and fill your stomach with it.” So I ate it, and it tasted as sweet as honey in my mouth.

God has words for us, and they are words that will undo us if we are willing to allow them into our hearts and minds. We are creatures of communication and God created us that way. Because of this God is the best at communicating and He created this whole universe to speak. One of the things that I think we often miss, and I think this passage addresses is the fact that even God’s judgement is sweet and satisfying. How good is God that even His wrath is a mercy?! Ezekiel is presented with a hard word for the people of Israel, a word that is just as applicable for us today as it was then. Yet, this harsh word is given to Ezekiel by God even though God knows that the majority will reject Ezekiel and God.

Leave a Reply

