What sushi taught me about racism.

There is a sure difference between preference and prejudice.

I remember one of my first dates with Rachel was to go out for sushi. I had never had sushi before and I was sure that I hated it. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Isn’t it true that we all have done something like that, formed an opinion about something or someone without ever really getting to know it or them? I think this is the place we are at now as a culture when it comes to the subject of racism. Is it ok for a white guy to talk about racism? Are we there yet?

I was fortunate enough to grow up in a household that recognized that races were different but also taught us to respect those differences, even if we didn’t fully understand them. God is creative, and loves to make different kinds of people. But when we don’t want to get to know somebody because they are too this or that then we are robbing ourselves of an invitation to see a part of God. I have noticed that this seems to be a deep rooted problem (especially in the south, and especially in my parents generation 50-60s and up).

This just doesn’t apply to race either, it’s someone of a different political agenda or someone who goes to a different church or no church. The important thing here is for us (as Christians) to remember that God made everyone. Keep in mind I’m not speaking about tolerance here (that’s the least we should do). I the guy driving behind me bumper to bumper, nearly running me off the road. But God hasn’t called us to tolerate people. He has called us to love them, no matter what we think about them.

Leave a Reply

