Shadow Boxing.

A while back I saw a video about a grand master martial artist who claimed to have a 200-0 record. His knockout expertise? Invisible energy punches. He eventually put out a little bounty on his own head wagering $5,000 to anyone who could beat him in a fight. An MMA fighter challenged him.

*Spoiler Alert*

The “grand master” lost. 

Now, my intent in this post is not to examine the possibility of a “Chi-Punch” or debate inner energy. I just want to use this as an example of how easily we can all believe our own stories, and how doing so can put us into some pretty bad situations.

Years ago I was in a pretty low place. My sin of pride had damaged some relationships around me so I started seeing a Pastor for council. I remember that in our first meeting he made me a deal. “I won’t share what you tell me, but you have to me completely honest with me.” He asked me if I could do that. I said, “I don’t know.”

It was the first time that I had ever really examined my ability to tell the truth. Sometimes you get to telling lies or a specific lie so long that you actually come to believe it yourself. Honesty is obviously important in our relationships but it starts with being able to be honest with God and ourselves.

If you want to be a truth teller, you have to tell yourself the truth first.

Leave a Reply

