One Thing

Recently I was given a book by one of my mentors. It is called “The One Thing: The Surprisingly Simple Truth Behind Extraordinary Results” by Gary Keller. As soon as I saw the cover I immediately thought of the great line from the movie “City Slickers” Curly played by the late Jack Palance and Mitch (Billy Crystal) are having a conversation about life. 

Curly:”You know what the secret to life is?”

Mitch:”What?”

Curly:(Points to finger.)

Mitch:”Your finger?”

Curly:”One thing.”

Mitch:”What’s the one thing?”

Curly:”That’s what you have figure out.”

Of course the book also begins with this introduction to the idea of living a life about one thing. So I have been wrestling with what my “One Thing” is, which has been really good for me. After about a week of contemplating what my one thing is or should be my answer came in the sermon yesterday by Dr. Dave Campbell when he read the passage in 1 Corinthians 2

“For I determined not to know any thing among you, save (this one thing) Jesus Christ, and him crucified.

Of course the answer would be Jesus. Why would it have been anything else? It’s amazing that I have to keep learning the same lesson over and over again. But it really reminds me that I am most focused and effective when I am most submitted to God. 

Leave a Reply

